Arranged

I got a call from the hospital. Mikesh was bought in few hours ago. He was apparently hit by a car and the driver called 911. I was asked to reach there as soon as possible. I took the first flight to New York and reached the hospital he was admitted in. I was so mad at myself. The last conversation we had was fight. That too for a stupid reason. If it wasn’t for me he would be fine now. It broke my heart to see him covered with blood. He was still critical but the doctor allowed me to meet him to see him.

I went in and held his hand with both my hands. He was unconscious.

“Hey Mikesh. Everything is going to be alright. There is nothing to worry about. We are going to get married. I.. this is first time I have been in a relationship and lately I have realized that… that I love you Mikesh. Please come back. I love you. I miss you.”

For the 48 hours Mikesh was in ICU. He was very critical. He kept losing and gaining pulse. The doctors said there isn’t much they could do. I had to meet him once.

“Mikesh. Come back. I love you Mikesh. I can’t imagine my life without you. I..”

And the monitor that flashed the heartbeat started beeping. I yelled for the doctor. They came in a moment. They worked him for about some 20 minutes. He was conscious now.

“Excuse me, do you know Mr. Mikesh Chowdhari.”

“Yeah. I am his fiance, why?”

“He keeps asking for a Natasha, I am guessing you are her.”

“No. I don’t know someone with that name. I’d check with his parents though.”

“Thanks. That would be all.”

I called his parents up and there eventually was a Natasha after all. She was Mikesh’s ex girlfriend. I never knew about it he won’t tell me. But the first thing he does after he woke up was ask for her. She came to see him by.

“Hey Mikesh.”

“Hey.”

“So how did you end up here?”

“Was hit by a car.”

“Someone has a vendetta with you I guess.”

“Nah. I think it was just an accident.”

Meanwhile the NYPD came to ask me some questions.

“Where were you when Mr. Mikesh was hit by a car?”

“I was home. In Delhi.”

“Delhi?”

“India.”

“Okay. And how did you came to know about this?”

“I was informed by the hospital staff. They told mine was the last number he had dialed.”

“What was it you talked about?”

“I was mad at him for not telling me that his flight had been pre poned. He was trying to apologize when I cut the call.”

“That was the last he spoke to you?”

“Yes.”

“You sure?”

“Yes. Why?”

“Because yours was not the last number he called. He had a call from a burner phone before he left the hotel. The security cam footage places him in the hotel at 11.28pm and the call was timed at 11.25pm. Miss. Tanya did he tell you why suddenly out of the blue he wanted to come to New York?”

“He told me he had some investigators for his new project he had to meet with them to finalize the deal.”

“He never came to meet the investigators. He came to see Natasha. I am sorry Miss Tanya but it seems your fiance was having an affair with her.”

“What?”

“These are his phone records before he reached New York. All of them are to Natasha. And these are his emails and chats with her. They clearly suggest that he was in affair with her.”

“But this is not possible. We are going to get married next month.”

“Then how do you explain these?”

“I don’t know.”

“And the car he was hit with. It wasn’t just an accident. He was set up. Someone purposely asked him to meet up at the place where he would have to cross the road. He was a hired accomplice. We aren’t sure who it was but I think it will be for his best that you don’t leave him alone for a second and definitely not with Natasha. We never know this could be she faking the records and the emails. So just be careful.”

“I will. Thank you officer.”

“That’s my job.”

I went back to see Mikesh. He was laying there. Natasha was still there. She held his hand and kissed him on his forehead. That bitch. I went in. She went out without even looking at me. I didn’t want to talk to him about his ex-girlfriend now.

“Hey.”

“Hey.”

“I was so scared. I thought I am going to lose you.”

“Well I am here now.”

“Yeah.”

I hugged him and kissed him on his cheeks. I knew he didn’t do this. He will never cheat on me. I was my way to NYPD to tell them when someone stopped my car. The next thing I remember is being abducted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

