Arranged

So we were out for our dinner date and surprisingly Mikesh didn’t wear his trademark three piece suit this time. He wore a black Henley full sleeved tee shirt and faded black denims. And I too wore something western today. I wore a yellow tee and denim shorts. And for the next surprise Mikesh didn’t bring his sprawling Audi A8 but his R15 instead. It was a blue and white model. And boy that was sexy just like the destination he picked. Barbecue Nation. It was really a sexy destination to take your wife-to-be. But that had months to wait. We were seated at a table that out-looked the beautiful city of Mumbai. It was beautiful and we headed to the buffet and got something to eat. We ate in peace but Mikesh had more on his mind. We went to bar next. Poison in Bandra (E). We had Malibu shots to drink and then Mikesh asked me for a dance. I can’t say no to my husband-to-be. We danced and for yet another surprise he was a very light dancer. Swift! He dropped me at my place and went back to his. The next day we made plans with our friends to go to Adlabs Imagica. It was near the Mumbai-Pune Expressway.

It was an amazing day. We took a lot of photos together and his friend circle was so much fun. Apparently they  were all investment bankers but hell lot of fun. We were at the Capital when Mikesh took my hand and led me to the front. He got on his knees and said,

“The moment we met, my life became extraordinary. You taught me more about myself than I knew there was learn. You are the joy in my heart. You’re the last person I wanna see every night when I close my eyes. I love you, Tanya Nagpal. And the mystery of you is the one I want to spend the rest of my life exploring. I promise to love you, to be your friend and partner in crime and in life. Always. Tanya Nagpal, will you marry me?”

I had tears in my eyes when I heard him say all those things. He stood up and I just hugged him.

“I hate you.”

“But I love you.”

“I love you more. So is that a yes?”

“Yeah.”

“So you coming to the book launch tomorrow?”

“I am sorry, book launch?”

“Yeah. Tomorrow’s the launch of my very first book.”

“Oh yeah. Whats the title?”

“Winning Tanya Nagpal over.”

“What?!”

“I am kidding. You should have seen your face.”

“Ha ha ha. Now whats the title?”

“From Rugs To Being a Billionaire.”

“Rugs?”

“Yeah it sounded more dramatic.”

“So whats it about?”

“My journey to being the billionaire I am.”

“Nice. When is it?”

“Tomorrow. I said that thrice.”

“I meant the time kiddo.”

“Oh 11.30 pm.”

“So late?”

“Yeah.”

“Okay I’ll be there.”

The next night.

I wore a great white tee shirt and a black suit to go with it. It was one of the best days of my life. I signed a couple of books and read the prologue to the people visiting me. And there was my beautiful wife-to-be.

“Hey, you are late.”

“Got stuck in traffic.”

“Okay.”

“Congratulations.”

She said as she hugged me. I pulled back soon.

“Thank you.”

“Something wrong?”

“Nah. Just tired.”

“Why don’t you go home?”

“Ah, I wish. But my publisher isn’t here yet. I can’t leave without him. I’ve to plan a tour with him after this launch.”

“What kind of tour?”

“Book tour. Hey maybe you could come along. Its like 8 beautiful cities of the world in a month.”

“Great.”

“So you in?”

“Yeah count me in.”

And two weeks later we were on a plane to our first destination – Paris. The city of love and romance. I remembered Tanya once telling me how she wanted to go to Paris for our honeymoon. I guess we had a little pre – honeymoon. When I was finished with the book reading and the promotion me and Tanya went out for a walk.

We held hands and walked in the beautiful streets of Paris. It was so beautiful that we didn’t feel tired at all. We walked till the exquisite Eiffel Tower. It was gorgeous. And to make it more likely it started snowing. It was simply magical. I turned to face Tanya who was rubbing her hands together to keep them warm. I hugged her ever so tightly. She hugged me back we the same force. And we parted after what felt eternity. I just gazed at her lips.

“Now stop thinking and kiss me.”

I placed my lips lightly on hers and she responded with so much love. I held onto her waist as her hands locked behind my neck. The kiss deepened by each passing moment. It became more passionate and intense. We broke off soon after.

“Lets head back.”

“Sure.”

Mikesh acted weird after we kissed. He started acting strange. He won’t look at me directly. He wouldn’t even touch me. I had to talk to him about it.

“Mikesh what’s wrong?”

“Nothing.”

“Don’t mess with me. You wont look at me. Wont touch me. What is the matter with you?”

“Nothing. Its just that I don’t think we kissing was the greatest of idea.”

“Oh my, God. Babe its not like we committed a crime. We are a couple. We are going to get married. Its okay for us to kiss.”

“You sure?”

“I am baby. Come here my baccha.”

We hugged. I was worrying without any reason. But I have gotta say she is way more mature than me in  handling relationship stuff. I mean we are perfect for each other. We complete each other. We are great together and we are meant to be. Now the first stop of the journey was awesome. Next stop Los Angeles. And we were all ready for the next stop of our beautiful journey.

 

Leave a Reply

