Arranged

“Sir, the fugitive just escaped from Park Avenue street 27.”

“Can you get me the exact location of the fugitive?”

“Copy sir. Its 69’12 Latitude and 29’90 Longitude.”

“Roger how I am suppose to know the latitude. Give me any notable signs.”

“Sir, there is a bookstore near the street he is approaching.Its a Scholastic Bookstore named Titans.”

“Okay.”

I said as I turned the blue tooth off. I got out of the cafe I was sitting in. I was wearing a baseball cap and dark blue aviator sunglasses to avoid suspicion. I ran towards the Titans Bookstore. I waited there for our fugitive. He was supposed to wear a red shirt and black pants. I saw a man assembling that description and I turned towards him. As soon as he saw me looking at him he began running. I ran behind me. I doubled up to keep pace with him. I ran but couldn’t catch him. I took a short cut and caught him soon. I punched him twice in the face and he fell on the ground. HE stood up with a knife in his hand. He plunged the knife towards me and I doge it twice. But on the third time he go my lower abdominal. I held his hand and turned it so he let out the knife. I turned him towards me and punched him again in the face. He punched me on the wound that the knife had created. I winced but didn’t show it. I punched him again. I bent him and kicked him him twice. I twisted his hand and made him sit on his knees. I took out the handcuffs and cuffed him up. I had my men take him away. I went to my hotel suite. I neared the bar and drew some vodka. I drank some and threw some at the bleeding wound. I stitched my own wound. I was taught that in Quantico. Before I could recover from the pain I got another call from the head quarters. I rushed to the head quarters. The fugitive was ready for cross examination. I went into the cabin.

“Please state your name for the record.”

“Mark Rutherford.”

“Huh? That’s your real name?”

“Yeah.”

“Okay Mark. Why dd you kill Ms.Natasha?”

“What? I never killed Natasha.”

“You have got some nerve to lie.”

“I am not lying.”

“Okay. When were you between 9 and 11.30 between last night?”

“At a bar. At Madison Avenue. Ricks.”

“So you are saying that here in this picture it is not you?”

“Not that’s not me.”

“And I am supposed to believe you?”

“Are you really what you say you are? See the height of that man. Its about 6’2”. And I am no more that 5‘10””

“Unfortunately this time your are right. I’ll get back to you.”

I went to my teammates. I yelled at them that we had not only got the wrong guy we even bet him up.

“But sir then why did he attacked you?”

“That’s a good point.”

I went back to him.

“Why did you attack me?”

“Self defense.”

“Self de… I took me 12 stitches.”

“I am sorry.”

“That’s alright. Sorry to arrest you BTW.”

“Okay. Can I go now?”

“Yeah.”

I again went to my teammates. We again started for our main suspect. We ran facial recognition. But unfortunately we had only 25% of the face visible. But I noticed a particular brand of the cap he was wearing. It was special addition Adidas cap.

“James, Is there any Adidas retail shop in five block radius from the crime scene?”

“Copy sir. Yes sir there is only one shop. Here’s the address.”

“Okay. Let’s go. We have some investigation to do.”

We went to the address given to us by James.

“Sir, we wanted to know if there was any guy who purchased this cap from you?”

“Yes sire. Its a limited edition. I sold it to some guy with a foreign accent.”

“Okay, do you have a security camera?”

“Yes sir. Right there.”

“Okay we would want the last 72 hours footage sent to the head quarters.”

“Alright sir.”

We went back the head quarters.

“James, scrub the entire security footage. We gotta find this murderer.”

“In the light of recent events…”

“Hey Roger, turn the volume up.”

“We have recently reported that the son of famous business tycoon Mr. Rajesh Bhagnani was abducted.”

“Oh my, God.”

“Sir your phone is ringing.”

“Who is it?”

“Tanya ma’am.”

“You give it to me.”

I picked up the phone.

“Yes babe.”

“What’s wrong? You sound worried.”

“Nothing. Listen I am in a meeting. Can I call you later?”

“Sure. Bye.”

“Listen. I love you.”

“I love you too.”

I hated lying to her. But I can’t risk her life telling her that I am a FBI agent. I was working with the FBI long before she even came in my life. I couldn’t tell her because that will jeopardize her life. I was trained at the Quantico training center when I was completing my MBA at New York University. From then on wards I have been a FBI agent. I was currently solving the murder case of a senator. It was intriguing as it seemed we were gasping at straws. We though had some lead at that CCTV footage that James was going trough but at the same time news came that the son of Mr. Rajesh Bhagnani had been kidnapped and I received a call from my senior to immediately look into the matter. I called the news channel.

“Hi, this is Detective Mikesh from FBI. I wanted to know how did you come to know that Rohan son of Mr. Bhagnani has been kidnapped?”

“Sir we have a footage from one of the news reports that shows Rohan being abducted at the the scene. We didn’t air it cause we thought that it might alert the kidnappers.”

“Well that was smart of you. Can you email that footage on my email mikesh.chowdhari@gmail.com?”

“Sure sir.”

“Thanks man.”

We received the footage and what we saw was shocking. It was the same man who killed our senator. The same red shirt black jeans. And that Adidas cap.

We now needed to scrub through that CCTV footage with fine tooth comb. And also as soon we can. I didn’t know why but I had feeling that he was up to something big.

 

Leave a Reply

