Arranged

It was some time after all the New York Mash-up. We were seated in the living room watching some shit on TV and Tanya wasn’t home yet. It was 12.30 in the night. I was fired up with anger. Its not a time when a girl could be out there for so long. I finally gave in and called her.

“Tanya, do you know what time it is? Where the hell are you?”

“Mikesh,  I am sorry I forgot to call you I am at a friend’s place. I’ll come home tomorrow and I..”

I cut the call in disgust. A 10 second phone could have been enough from her side but no she forgot. I was totally enraged. I decided to sleep it over.

In the morning I purposely left early so that I can save myself from the embarrassment of an awkward conversation.

It was lunch time and I wasn’t in any mood to have food. I had a big client meeting to prepare for. It was relating to a merger office in USA. It was when I was going through some files when i received a call. I didn’t even have the time to see the called ID so I picked it up anyway.

“Hello.”

“Hey, Mikesh.”

“Hey, Tanya.”

“What are you doing?”

“Working.”

“Oh, did I disturb you?”

“No. Say everything okay?”

“Yeah. You just went even before I had a chance to apologize too.”

“No, its okay. You don’t need to apologize.”

“Yet, I want to make it up to you. Can we go for dinner tonight?”

“Tanya, I’d love to, but I have this big meeting and I am taking my clients out for dinner. We will go away for the weekend but not tonight okay?”

“Okay. Sure.”

“Okay. I’ll see you at night.”

“Okay. Bye.”

“Bye.”

“And listen, I love you.”

“I love you too.”

And later that night I went home. I entered our bedroom and saw Tanya already sleeping. I went to washroom to get fresh. I took a bath and came to sleep. I shifted a bit in bed and saw that disturbed Tanya. She turned towards me and snuggled closer to me. I too put my arm around her and fell in deep sleep.

Next morning I had to go early to the office to meet the investors. I was just about to leave when Tanya woke up.

“Hey wait Mister.”

“Yes missus.”

“Come here.”

I went closer to her and sat on the bed besides her. She came close to me and locked her hands behind my neck.

“This is not the best thing that you leave me early in the morning without a kiss.”

“Okay. I am sorry. Can I make it up to you in any way?”

“Let’s think..”

I cut her in the middle and kissed her passionately. I loved to kiss her when she had no idea about it. Her hands moved to my shirt and she started unbuttoning it.

“No no no no no. I have to get to s meeting. I am sorry.”

“Okay. But you come early this night.”

“Okay. I promise.”

“Okay. Bye. I love you. Take care.”

“Bye. Love you too.”

I quickly gave a peck on her forehead. And left for work. I had a lot of work that day but I tried finishing it quickly because I promised Tanya that I’d be home early that night and so I did. I reached home and as I unlocked the door I saw Tanya waiting there for me. She was wearing a beautiful red saree. The whole house was dimly lit by the light that the scented candles emitted. It was beautiful. I went near her.

“Hey beautiful?”

“Hey handsome.”

“So all this is for me?”

“No, its for the guy next door.”

“Oh, sarcasm and sexy. I am floored.”

“You ought to be.”

“Well then why are we wasting time?”

I said as I kissed her lovingly. Soon the passion took over us and then no one fell asleep that night. We woke up  next morning . I was the first one to wake up. I saw Tanya sleeping there wearing my shirt that I was wearing last night. I slipped the shirt a little down from her shoulder and kissed her there. That woke her up. She turned to face me.

“Hey handsome.”

“Morning!”

“Good morning.”

“I had a good time last night. ”

“Yeah me too. Do you have to go to work today?”

“Ah.. Yes!”

“I hate you!”

“Oh, I love you too.”

I said as I kissed her again. Then we both got up and got dressed. I dropped her off at her dance academy and I went to office. It was some time to lunch and I received a call from Tanya.

“Hello.”

“Hey, Mikesh how were we doing on birth control last night?”

“I don’t know Tanya. I mean I didn’t use any.”

“Well even I didn’t have my pills. And I just threw up.”

“Do you mean?”

“I don’t know. I’ll have to take a pregnancy test and see then.”

“I’ll come pick you up right away.”

“Okay.”

We went home and Tanya took the pregnancy test she bought in the way. I waited impatiently outside. She came out and had tears in her eyes.

“What happened babes?”

“It’s positive.”

“Oh my, God. That’s such a great news. I am so happy.”

“What? Are you insane?”

“What do you mean?”

“Its a dead end for us.”

“What?”

“What about our careers?”

“What about it?”

“I am just saying we are not ready for a baby right now.”

“What? We are well off and we can totally afford this baby.”

“I don’t want to have this baby Mikesh.”

“I can’t get you Tanya. I mean.. this is insane.”

“Mikesh we have to abort this baby.”

“What? No! Its not only your baby Tanya its my baby too and I want to have it.”

“Well I don’t.”

“Then I think there is only one way we can sort this.”

“And what is it?”

“You have to choose between having a baby with me or not having me at all.”

“What?”

“That’s right Tanya. Have this baby with me or I will divorce you.”

“What?”

“That’s right.”

“I can’t do this.”

“Fine, you will receive the divorce papers from my attorney as soon as they are made.”

“What?”

“Yeah. I can’t even look at you right now.”

“I am sorry Mikesh.”

“Fuck.”

And I left banging the door.

 

 

Leave a Reply

