Race Against Love

I now really had to leave for India. Amar had insisted to drop me off at the airport.

“Take care. And call me when you land okay.”

“Okay, Papa.”

“No kidding.  Okay. Call me. And don’t forget me after you reach there.”

Here I was a superb NASCAR driver was telling me to not to forget him and there was a band full of paparazzi waiting behind us for just a look of him.

He inched closer to me. My heart started beating at an unprecedented rate. He was gazing towards my lips. I saw a shine in his eyes. I too inched closer to him. There was current that ran trough the paparazzi when they saw us.

“What are yo thinking?”

“I am thinking if you are thinking what I am thinking.”

“I guess, yes.”

And with that he took my lips into his. My hands went to his hairs at a reflex and his to my waist. The paparazzi was taken by shock but Amar had strictly issued an order to not to tape any of this. But who gave a fuck. He left my lips and placed a deep peck on my forehead.

“I’ll miss you.”

“I’ll miss you too.”

“Bye.”

“Bye. And hey, nothing.”

“Take care.”

“I will. Bye.”

And with that I boarded the flight. I could not tell him. Just could not tell him that I loved him because I knew that how much I love him he loves his dreams way more than that. I landed in India but as promised I didn’t call him. I didn’t want to have any sort of connection with him. But fate had other plans for us.

It was late one night. I was sitting in the living working on the laptop in front of me. I was wearing a loose shirt and denim shorts. I heard someone ring the bell. I went to check and didn’t have much time to look through the peephole. I was awestruck seeing the sight in front of me. It was none other than Amar. I was literally shocked. He was there. Like right there in front of me.

“Hey!”

“What the fuck?”

“Well the fuck is someone was supposed to call me as soon as they landed but didn’t so here I am to check on that someone.”

“You came all the way from California to check on me?”

“Yeah.”

“Well come in.”

“Sure.”

“Where is your luggage?”

“At the hotel. I arrived day before yesterday.”

“And you came to meet me now?”

“Someone is annoyed.”

“No, not annoyed.”

He said as he put his hands on my waist and pulled me closer. My breath heavy-ed with each passing second. I drowned myself in the depths of his eyes. He almost whispered.

“When I kissed you at the airport I wanted to hear those three words. I didn’t. I kissed you in front of all those people I wanted an answer. I didn’t. You me there and didn’t even call me. Why Sakshi?”

“I didn’t know what your answer…”

He cut me mid way and took me by surprise. He kissed me. My hands went behind his neck and I locked them there. With each passing second the kiss deepened. My hands moved to his shirt as I started unbuttoning his shirt. He picked me up and took me to my bedroom. No one slept that night.

It was three in the morning as I lay comfortably in his arms.

“I love you.”

“I love you more.”

“But I don’t know you.”

“I am Amar Singh Rajput. NASCAR driver. Pretty good.”

“Not that.”

“Okay. I’ll tell. It all started in 1991. I was born in Mumbai and in 1992 I lost both my parents in a car accident. I was sent to an orphanage. The school I went to, everybody was rich and I lived a life of poverty. You know at sports day, at parents teacher meeting everybody’s parents were there but not mine. Very soon I realized this world works on money. I worked at a restaurant and earned living. I purchased a second hand bike with it. I took it for ride when I could afford the petrol. You know when I drove, I felt free from all the restrictions I had. Financial, physical everything. It was then when I decided to become a driver. I joined the mechanics team for the race. I used to change tyres  and work great hours at the garage. When one day the legend himself Gaurav Gill arrived at my garage and asked me if I knew to drive. I said and yes and my life changed. He hired me on his team and let me drive his car sometimes. From there, there was no turning back. I entered championships and haven’t lost one till date.”

“You know what, now I love you more.”

“What about you? Even I don’t know you.”

“I am Sakshi Vashisth. Marketing head at Audi. Parents are well off but I wanted to create a life of my own. I came to Mumbai and now here I am.”

“Short and sweet.”

“Well yeah.”

“Let’s sleep.”

“Okay.”

I said as I nuzzled close to him. I loved him for no doubt but I was scared that his dreams may come in between our relationship. If its racing against love who will he choose?

Leave a Reply

