Race Against Love

A week later…

We were seated in the cafeteria near my work place. There he was sitting right in front of me. Sipping his coffee with the innocence of a 5 year old. How could I doubt him? But I had to ask him.

“Amar, how is this going to work?”

“What?”

“This. Us.”

“I don’t know, Sakshi. I mean I can’t shift to India. You can’t shift to California. So I guess..”

“This is it?”

“No, stupid. Don’t you love me?”

“I love you more than anything in this world, Amar. I am just scared.”

“Why? We will be in a long distance relationship.”

“Will that work?”

He held my hand.

“Do you trust me enough? Can you think that I won’t get in bed with girls behind your back?”

“Amar, I know you. You can’t hurt anyone. Let alone someone you love. And I trust you.”

“And so do I. I love you, Sakshi. And if there are going to be problems its okay because I will always love you.”

And then amidst all the chaos and people around us we shared a kiss. This was the thing about Amar. He didn’t care about the world. If he loves you and wants to express it no one no surrounding nothing at all matters to him. I loved this about him. As the days passed I found myself falling and falling more and more in love with him. But soon the day came when he had to leave for California.

“Call me when you land, okay?”

“Maybe I wont. Then you have to come and check on me.”

“Stop it.”

I said as  I crashed into him crying. He held me close and ran his fingers in my hairs. I know he was trying hard to hold back his tears.

“I’ll call you.”

His voice almost cracking.

“I’ll miss you.”

“Miss you too.”

“And.. I love you.”

“I  love you too.”

He said and we kissed goodbye again. But unlike me he called when he landed. We talked for hours and then he got busy in work. Not only him but I also got busy working. Except the fact that I worked behind a desk and he worked behind a wheel.

We talked almost daily when we had time. Sometimes we would go three to four days without talking but that wont affect our relationship at all because whenever we used to talk after a break it would be the most romantic talk ever. Amar used to express his love in such utter confusing terms that t would make me fall in more and more love with him. We were not like those textbook long distance couples who would call every now and then to confirm the location of the other. We trusted each other and moreover we were madly in love with each other and that’s what mattered the most.

A month later..

It had been a whole month since we met. I really missed the warmth of his arms and embrace. The essence of his touch. The tenderness of his lips. God, I missed him a lot. But we could not do anything about it. He had to race and I had to work.

I was in my house making something to eat when someone came and hugged me from behind. I was literally shocked but when I realized the touch I relaxed.  I turned to face her.

It was no one other than my friend and ex roommate Alisha. We were best of friends but like me and Amar we were separated by distance.

“Hello!”

“Hey. How have you been Miss. Vashisth?”

“Great and in love.”

“What?”

“Yes. I am in a relationship and that too a long distance one.”

She switched off the stove and dragged me to the hall.

“Kamini. You didn’t even tell me. Full story with details.”

“Well it started when I went to California. He is a client. And a racer.”

“Wait, what?”

“He is Amar Singh Rajput.”

“OMG! The NASCAR drive Amar? The hot Amar?”

“Yeah the hot one.”

“OMG! Nice job there. Hey but I think he is mostly out?”

“Yeah. That’s an issue. We are in a long distance relationship. I miss him so much.”

“Awe. But Amar dude he is so hot.”

“I know. And even hotter in bed.”

“What? You guys did it?”

“Yup!”

“Nice.”

“So when do you meet him again?”

“I don’t know. He has a busy season and I have a busy job.”

“So not soon?”

“Definitely not soon. But I miss him a lot.”

“Well yeah of course you do. Why don’t you go there and surprise him? Take a medical leave. Or better he is a client naa so tell them you have to update him of some kind of policy you have.”

“That’s actually a good idea.”

“I know. I am toh born smart you see.”

“Yeah yeah. I’ll call work and check.”

“Sure.”

I went to a corner and called my work to inform them about the impromptu meeting to California. They agreed like sheep. I was all set to meet my hottie. I left for California next weekend and reached his place which was a posh penthouse apartment. I went inside as it was unlocked and saw him sanding by the huge window staring at something. I went close to him and hugged him from behind.

Leave a Reply

